Whether you are an anime fan or not, it is probably impossible not to be familiar with the Japanese animator and film director, Mamoru Hosoda, or at least a few of his movies.

He is one of the founders of the Studio Chizu, and also the director of two of the most famous animated movies: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (時をかける少女, Toki o Kakeru Shōjo) and Summer Wars.

Besides the above, he also directed three other masterpieces: Wolf Children (2012), The Boy and the Beast (2015), and the most recent one, Mirai (2018).

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (2006), which is based on a science fiction novel by Yasutaka Tsutsui, is undoubtedly one of my favorite movies ever and probably the best I’ve seen when it comes to time leap animations.

Without spoiling too much, I’ll only say that the plot focuses on a schoolgirl, Makoto Konno, who accidentally gains the ability to travel through time, hence the title. She starts using her newly achieved power to change events, improve her grades, and even deal with romantic situations.


I believe the story is touching and unique, and the movie is timeless, with fantastic artwork, well-developed characters, and beautiful music that fits in perfectly.

Thanks to the movie, I also had the opportunity to discover another talented Japanese singer, Hanako Oku, who performed the theme song for the film.

Fans of both the animated film and the Japanese pop singer will be thrilled to find out that an LP record, including the original soundtrack of The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, is now on sale!

Nostalgia revived through the Toki Wo Kakeru Shōjo LP Record Original Soundtrack!

As this year marks the 10th anniversary of Studio Chizu, the animated film got a 4DX format. Also, an LP record with the original soundtrack of The Girl Who Leapt Through Time got released nationwide.

The LP record consists of two discs that also include the popular two soundtracks of the anime: "Unchanging Things" (変わらないもの kawaranai mono) and "Garnet" (ガーネット gānetto).

Here is the complete list of the songs included in the LP Record (set of two discs):

LP 1: Side A
1. Summer Sky - Opening Theme (夏空~オープニングテーマ~ natsuzora- ōpuningu tēma)
2. Sketch (スケッチ suketchi)
3. Aria (from Goldberg Variations) (アリア(ゴールドベルグ変奏曲より)aria gōrudoberugu hensōkyoku yori)
4. Automaton clock - time leap (からくり時計~タイムリープ karakuridokei ~ taimurīpu)
5. A girl's anxiety (少女の不安 shōjo no fuan)
6. Sketch (long version) (スケッチ(ロング・バージョン) suketchi rongu bājon)

LP 1: Side B
7. Daylife
8. First Variation (from Goldberg Variation) (第一変奏曲(ゴールドベルグ変奏曲より) dai ichi hensōkyoku gōrudoberugu hensōkyoku yori)
9. Future memory (未来の記憶 mirai no kioku)
10. Quiet (静寂 seijaku)
11. Unchanging Things (strings version) (変わらないもの(ストリングス・バージョン) kawaranaimono sutoringusu bājon)

LP 2: Side A
12. Summer Sky - Ending Theme (夏空~エンディング・テーマ~ natsuzora ~ endingu tēma)
13. Time Leap (Long Version) (タイムリープ(ロング・バーション) taimurīpu rongu bāshon)
14. Summer Sky (Long Version) (夏空(ロング・バージョン) natsuzora rongu bājon)
15. Garnet (single version) (ガーネット(シングルバージョン) gānetto shinguru bājon)
16. Unchanging Things (single version) (変わらないもの(シングルバージョン) kawaranaimono shinguru bājon)

Product Information

  • Price: 6,600 yen (tax included)
  • Available in Local Stores/Web Store
  • Composition / Arrangement made by Kiyoshi Yoshida except: Tracks 3 & 8- Composition: J.S.Bach; Track 11- Composition: Hanako Oku, Arrangement: Kiyoshi Yoshida; Tracks 15 & 16- Lyrics / Composition / Arrangement: Hanako Oku, Arrangement: Jun Sato
  • Purchase Online

By - cinnamonellie.